Seeking Female Housemate in Exchange for Help with Chores

Posted May 11, 2022

Offering room in family home in exchange for help with household chores

What we are seeking: We have found that having an additional helpful adult in the household, to help out here and there, makes life much easier. We are seeking a housemate who is interested in trading approximately 15 hours a week of help with household chores and the children in exchange for room (and perhaps board). The best fit housemate would be a person who enjoys the chaos of family life; is a sound sleeper; has a strong immune system; and who responds to a messy house, half-unloaded dishwasher, and half-cleared dining table by pitching in without judgment.

The room: It’s a private bedroom, approximately 10’x10’, with a large closet. The room is furnished with a double bed, a dresser, and a desk.

There is no private entrance or bathroom. The housemate would share bathroom, kitchen, and all other common areas, with the family. Laundry, fast internet, use of washer/dryer, and all other utilities would of course be included.

Location: Our house is in a pleasant, walkable neighborhood in Hyattsville, MD with a strong Catholic community. We are walking distance from 2 metro stops (West Hyattsville and PG Plaza); coffee shops, restaurants, and grocery stores; St Jerome’s parish; and many walking/biking trails. We are also close to CUA, the JPII Institute, and UMD.

About us: We are a family of five: mom, dad, and three young children. Mom and dad both work full-time-ish. We are Midwesterners; practicing Catholics and members of St. Jerome’s Parish; fairly introverted; enjoy strategy board games; and our idea of an exciting weekend adventure is a trip to a local park/playground. Kids are ages 1, 2, and 5, and go to school/daycare during the week.

Move-in Date and commitment period: The earliest possible move-in date is August 22nd. We are flexible on commitment period – let us know what you are looking for! I think we’d prefer 2-3 months or till the end of the fall semester, with the possibility to extend if both parties agree.

The chores: The chores that the housemate could help with include any of the following: washing dishes, loading/unloading the dishwasher, dining room and kitchen clean up, tidying up of the common areas, childcare, child drop-off/pick-up from daycare/school, yardwork, cooking dinner and laundry.

Contact Tricia at [email protected] with inquiries.