Room in Family Home in Exchange for Help with Household Chores

Posted May 1, 2023

** Seeking a female housemate who is interested in trading approximately 15 hours a week of help with household chores and the children in exchange for lodging ** The best fit housemate would be a person who enjoys the chaos of family life; is a sound sleeper; has a strong immune system; and who responds to a messy house, half-unloaded dishwasher, and half-cleared dining table by pitching in without judgment.

** Start date / Commitment period **  We are looking for someone to live with us during the 2023-2024 school year. Move in date could be as early as July 2023. If the arrangement is working well, the housemate would be welcome to stay on.

** The room ** It’s a private bedroom, approximately 10’x10’, with a good size closet. The room can be made available furnished or unfurnished, as you prefer.  There is no private entrance or bathroom. The housemate would share the bathroom, kitchen, and all other common areas with the family. Laundry, fast internet, use of washer/dryer, and all other utilities would of course be included. Our house has four levels. We rent out the basement to a tenant. The first floor has a living room, dining room, kitchen, playroom, and bathroom. The second floor has a bathroom and three bedrooms (one for mom and dad; one for our current housemate; and one for you). The third floor has the children’s bedroom, and the office. For some pictures of the house, see here

** Location ** Our house is in a pleasant, walkable neighborhood in Hyattsville, MD with a strong Catholic community. We are walking distance from 2 metro stops (West Hyattsville and PG Plaza); coffee shops, restaurants, and grocery stores; St Jerome’s parish; and many walking/biking trails. We are also close to CUA, the JPII Institute, and UMD.

** The chores ** We would especially love to find a housemate who can help with either school drop-off (9am-10:30am) or school pick-up (4pm-5:30pm) at least some days a week during the school year. We will provide the vehicle. Other areas we could potentially use help with include any of the following: dishes, laundry, cooking, tidying up the common areas, errands, yardwork, home repairs, and providing back-up childcare when kids are home from daycare/school due to closures or illness.

** About us ** We are practicing Catholics and members of St. Jerome’s Parish. Mom and Dad both work full-time. Our life is centered around home, neighborhood, and our local community, and we are part of a very active church community with many young families. We have experience living with housemates. When we have the time and energy, we enjoy camping, hiking, bike rides, and playing strategy board games. Our household currently has 3 adults, and 3 children. Mom (40) is an Economist at the World Bank. Dad (41) is a data management specialist at a non-governmental association and works full-time from home. Our housemate (38) has been living with us for the past year. She is an accountant and asylum seeker from Belarus, and she helps out with chores and school drop-off/pick-up in exchange for room and board, while she waits for her work authorization to come through. Our oldest child (6) is an independent and creative little girl who loves playing Minecraft on the computer, riding her bicycle, and going to the playground and swimming pool. Our middle child (3.5) is a caring and generous little girl, who loves being at home with her family, riding her scooter, playing with dolls, and learning rhymes and songs. Our youngest child (2) is a happy and adaptable little girl, who wants to do everything her older does, and who never misses an opportunity to be helpful.

Contact Tricia at [email protected] with inquiries.